What was the mission?

Funny, when setting out to accomplish anything in life one typically creates a plan. Said plan take into account various stages of the process including the final end goal or objective.

Improvisation (which I happen to believe is strong American trait) often impacts the final result. Why? Because no plan is perfect! So after a couple of days in the desert I decided to improvise. Of course this also fits well with my impulsive nature; and so on Tuesday am I took a different path. Recognizing that I had come close to my physical limit for body stress I elected to go home. It was a decision fraught with a certain level of anxiety at first. But once I got over myself it was easy to recognize that I really missed Cherie and that nearly six weeks of separation was indeed enough.

So on Tuesday I rented a jeep and drove 37 hours straight home much to the my wife’s surprise! I drove through the worst drought conditions I had ever experienced, I saw one wildfire start in northern Arizona when lighting hit the side of a mountain; I saw on sun set and one sun rise. I ate two Mickey D $1 McDoubles, three $1 chocolate chip cookies; and I found another, you guessed it, Costco in Des Moines where I had a polish sausage with a coke. Bought a fun gadget at Target in Phoenix (thanks Danielle) that allowed my i-pod to be played and charged at the same time via the car auxiliary connector — I sang eight hours of songs twice or was it more?

I arrived late last night while on the phone with Cherie — I led her to believe I was still in Arizona. When she came to the door we were on the phone and she thought I was a neighbor making the surprise total and final.

Slept in my own bed last night, lost seven pounds, woke-up this morning initially wondering if everything has been a dream.

I have concluded that it was indeed a dream. But I also got re-energized about people and our country. There is much beauty and much love out there that if given half a chance gives us all an opportunity to get connected.

This blog was a first for me. Those who know me know that I can at times be brash and outspoken. But generally I don’t have that much of an audience so my words dissipate quickly. This written record is quite different since you and I can see everything I shot by camera or typed into my i-phone.

Glad you took the time to join me!

20120823-191228.jpg

Peace

P.S. The glasses went through a lot–they are being tossed away!

About tourdetom

I'm retired. Travel a lot.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What was the mission?

  1. Karen Peterson says:

    Glad you are home safe and looking quite well indeed. It was wonderful visiting with you and Cherie. You seemed relaxed, happy and re-energized. Your adventure gave you pause for thought and reflection. People are truly amazing. Every day can be an adventure if you make it so…Thanks for letting us ride along with you and experience it vicariously. We can renew our faith in people and relish the beauty around us, too.

  2. René Mašinda says:

    Welcome home Tom! I bet Cherie was going crazy happy when she opened the door! I am happy you came back in one piece 🙂 No man left behind!!! Did you get the chance to keep the Jeep? Now since you have completed exploring the West Coast it is time to relax enjoy the family and think about writing a book about all this. Stop by at our hub anytime – we still have all the postings on the wall 🙂 Enjoy the time home – gain some weight back. Natasha says hello and the boys and the girls too!

    • tourdetom says:

      Rene, It is good to be home. I truly surprised my wife–even after 35 years I can still cause a ripple! The jeep has been returned and I am in relax mode for awhile. Say hi to Natasha and tell the boys to buckle down in school. Hope their time in Europe was fun this summer.

      Tare care!

      Tom

  3. alfred harrison says:

    Bravo Tom & Congratulations on following through with your dream and being guided to be open to changed plans. Blessings and much love to you and Cherie,
    Alfred

  4. Julie Hunt says:

    Well done and glad your back! Neighbor Julie

    • Maggy says:

      Welcome home Tom! Glad you are back. I can’t even imagine how much you’ve missed Cherie & home. Congratulations on all your accomplishments & thanks for sharing your journey. What a ride!! Can’t wait to see you & hear all about your trip.

  5. tadd kelly says:

    when you are done relaxing and watering the gardens, come back to work! haha, likely not…so enjoy yourself, maybe i’ll see you at a board meeting? Talk soon i hope! Tadd

  6. judy says:

    Congratulations on all you accomplished – and thank you for sharing your marvelous journey! I’m glad you made it home safe. Take care. Judy

  7. Kristin Erickson says:

    Tom, I have really enjoyed followng your blog! I am impressed that you did this adventure and even more impressed that you decided to come home. Who knows, maybe you’ll pick up another leg and get Cherie to drive a sag wagon here and there. Thanks for the blog. I’ll miss your adventures. You’ll have to cook up some adventure closer to home!

    • tourdetom says:

      Kristin,
      I am still very impulsive. I drove 37 hours straight — saw one sunset and one sunrise both of course were awesome. I plan to travel via auto over the next few months so the blog is on hiatus for a few days!

      Thanks for the messages!

      Cheers!

      Tom

  8. Kristin Erickson says:

    Hm, interesting. I haven’t posted a comment before and it says “your comment is awaiting moderation.” Thank goodness they weren’t waiting for Tom to be moderate! We’d be waiting a long time.

  9. Jen Hibbard says:

    Although the Tour de Tom has come to an end…I’m sure another Tour of sorts will begin! Way to go and way to blog!! It was great to read of your adventures and so glad you are home safe and sound! We miss you here on the Stagecoach. 🙂

    • tourdetom says:

      Jen,
      It ain’t over ’til it’s over! Due to popular demand (frankly I am shocked) I am re-engaging with the blog shortly. I will soon be off on further auto-borne adventures that will allow me to share fresh fodder with my small legion of followers — my goodness people are bored out there!

      Stay tuned! I do miss you! Say hi to folks for me especially Ms Pugh!

      Tom alias Old Biker Dude

  10. Clelia Brigneti says:

    I am so happy that you are home in one piece and like you said, caused a ripple! I am sure she was very happy to see you. I am glad that you took the time to make us part of your journey. You might have had inspired somebody to do something similiar to what you did…! Enjoy retirement and if you guys every come back to Portland, you have a place to stay!….. and this time in our new home.

    • tourdetom says:

      C,
      You purchased a new home! Good for you. Closer to work I presume? Please send pictures when you can. I am on the road again with my bride. We left today for Hannibal MO, Springfield IL and places further south and east. Our plan is to be gone until 11/6.

      It is so good to hear from you!

      Say hi to David.

      Cheers,
      Tom

Leave a Reply

